Year 1 week 2. Synchronicity

Editors note: I admit, I’ve been a bad blogger. I haven’t taken you on the building a food truck journey that I promised you. This blog has been dark for over 265 days.  During those days, the Guerrillas haven’t been idle, we’ve been building our future, piece by piece, finding funding and working out the details of our business. At some point, I will try to get you up to speed with the journey with pictures and video and when time allows, retrospective articles that fill in the gaps.  I once read that Hemingway had ” The Old Man and the Sea” in his brain for sixteen years before he committed it to paper. I don’t claim to be a fraction of the writer that Hemingway was, but by those standards, 265 days is a drop in the bucket.  J.K 

I was tense and nervous as I slurped on a cup of coffee on my front porch. Thursday June 2, 2016. “One year to the day .”, I thought as I fidgeted with my cell phone to check the time. The Department of Agriculture inspector would be here in an hour. Dave chain smoked and paced like an expecting father awaiting the arrival of his first-born. ” Isn’t it ironic that our food truck is going to be inspected  exactly one year from the day that we bought her?”, Dave lit another  cigarette and continued. ” What a coincidence. What are the chances?”

“Synchronicity.”, I thought but dare not say.

Dave is a realist so I figured that I would spare him an esoteric debate about the finer points of the paranormal. Being a Roman Catholic, I’m used to the idea of weird stuff happening.  Bread and wine turn into God. I’m comfortable with Jesus’s  Virgin birth or that the  1980 American Olympic Hockey team could win the gold against the Russians. Miracles are part of my life.

Dave once told me that he believed that when life ends your body is eaten by worms and that’s the end of the game. I’m banking on the fact that if I live my life as a good person and say my prayers, (in heaven) I can have cocktails in a hot tub with Marilyn Monroe, Jimi Hendrix, Abraham Lincoln, and Vince Lombardi. For me to believe in the possibility of synchronicity is easy.

The idea of synchronicity was introduced by Carl Jung in the 1920’s and states  that some events are “meaningful coincidences” if they occur with no causal relationship, yet seem to be meaningfully related. Another way Jung defined synchronicity was “acausal parallelism”.

We all have incidents of meaningful coincidences in our lives.

You hear a song on the radio that reminds you of an old flame that you haven’t seen in 7 years and they call you on the phone as you are listening to the song.

You drive to a place where parking is “next to impossible” and someone pulls out of a parking spot or it is waiting for you.

You have just received your last check from unemployment when suddenly a better paying job comes along.

You walk into a book store not knowing what to buy, and the book you need falls from a shelf and practically hits you over the head. This book changes your life.

A skeptic would ask,” What reasons are there for accepting synchronicity as an explanation for anything in the real world?”   A skeptic would say that synchronicity is simply Apophenia (the spontaneous perception of connections and meaningfulness of unrelated phenomena). More simply put, humans assign meaning to randomness to create order.

I looked at the clock and the inspector was 5 minutes late. Dave grimaced and told me how being prompt was extremely important to him.  “The dude could have called.”, I thought, as one bead of sweat trickled down my forehead.

A dull Chevy with Government plates slowly drove down the alley behind our truck.

” Think this is the guy.”, Dave said while mashing his cigarette into the blue plastic ashtray on my front porch. Fear and excitement welled up in my throat and I took a deep breath. “One year to the day…”

I never viewed food inspectors as the bogey man. They aren’t monsters. Their job is to protect the public and maintain laws and standards set forth by the Commonwealth. Any legitimate food service operation should be happy to see the inspector because it gives an objective opinion on the food safety and cleanliness of your establishment.  Wise Food Truck owners partner with inspectors to ensure the production of the safest food. This relationship is good for customers and businesses. Despite wanting to establish a relationship with the inspector, I was still nervous about our inspection. Did we cover every detail? Did we comply with the mountain of laws?  Was anything overlooked?

Dave knew our inspector very well and was immediately at ease. He used to do snow removal with Dave. (Isn’t that a “Meaningful Coincidence”?)  After a two-hour inspection and conversation about food safety and sanitation, the inspector gave us our licence. We passed with flying colors. Dave and I felt really proud and I was assured that some day in heaven, I would be sipping martinis with Marilyn Monroe and Jimi Hendrix in a hot tub while debating the merits of synchronicity over chaos.

 

  

3 thoughts on “Year 1 week 2. Synchronicity

  1. Great to hear from you again! Brennan and I had JUST said last week that we wondered what was going on with your food truck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

